Wychavon Festival of Brass

“An excellent weekend of music making with Lanner Band, sixth out of eighteen will do very nicely” Musical Director, Andrew Berryman sums up the Bands weekend competing at the Wychavon Festival of Brass.

Competing in the Championship Section against bands from across England and Wales the band performed a twenty minute program of music.

Opening with the introduction from Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001 Space Odyssey) a “good atmospheric start” (quotes from the Adjudicator, Dr Robert Childs) was created, this was segued into Malaguena a piece originally written for Halle Orchestral Brass – “excellent dynamic contrast and stylistically true. One or two technical issues but generally well played – super show”.

Next up was our soloist for the day, Steve Coad “makes a beautiful sound” with The Green Hill. The British Bandsman tweeted “Great sounds from Lanner Band with a special word for the excellent Steve Coad on Euphonium – star of the show!”

Perez Prado was to make an appearance now “full of energy and enthusiasm” to include vocals and dad dancing Mambo Jambo amused the audience!

Concluding the program was a fantastic arrangement of the hymn tune Melita; Eternal Father Strong to Save arranged by J M Parkinson the seafarers hymn builds from the deepest depths of the ocean out of which comes the lyrical lines of the hymn, it continues to build right to the final note. Dr Robert Childs was seen sitting back in his chair simply enjoying the music! He concluded his remarks with “A well constructed programme played well and directed musically throughout. Good euph soloist too”

Full results:

Championship Section

Adjudicator: Dr Robert Childs

1. Llwydcoed (Chris Turner) — 192
2. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter) — 190*
3. Medway (Mevin White) — 189
4. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Dewi Griffiths)
5. Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid)
6. Lanner & District (Andrew Berryman)
7. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
8. Enderby (Simon Gresswell)
9. Foresters Brass (John Davis)
10. Jackfield Elcock Reisen (Simon Platford)
11. Yorkshire Imperial DUT (Martin Heartfield)
12. Johnstone Silver (Martyn Ramsay)
13= Hatfield (Stan Lippeatt)
13= Langley (Cliff Parker)
15. Bedworth (David Maplestone)
16. BTM (Jeff Hutchinson)
17. Brunel Brass (Paul Collis-Smith)
18. Sandhurst Silver (Paul McLaughlin)


We welcome all new players at whatever stage of their musical journey

Contact Us